How to Make Pancake Syrup from Scratch


Is there a memory or smell from the past that comes to mind, that takes you right back to that very time, and makes you feel good all over? The smell of bacon cooking and hot pancakes early in the morning does that to me. With five small mouths to feed we had to find ways to make our money stretch. And there were times we would run out of certain items. One of those items was syrup. When that happened I would just get the ingredients out of the cupboard and make my own. It’s simple, easy and inexpensive. 

Here are the ingredients:

1 cup water
2 cups of sugar
1/2 teaspoon of Mapleine
Old empty syrup bottle

Here are the directions for making syrup at home:

Using a medium-sized saucepan, add 1 cup of water and two cups of sugar. The stove top should be set to medium. As the water heats up and the sugar dissolves, add 1/2 teaspoon of Mapleine. Mapleine is an imitation maple flavor that is sold in a small brown bottle next to the spice section in your grocery store. Stir occasionally as you let the syrup simmer for five to ten minutes. From my experience, the longer you let it simmer, and the more sugar you add, the thicker the syrup will become. When it has cooled you can either use it immediately, or place it in a container in the refrigerator over night. I like to make my syrup the evening before I’m going to use it. It seems that as it sits over night, it thickens better and does not absorb into your pancakes as quickly.

I really like the taste of store bought syrups, but I like saving money more. Plus, I like knowing what I’m eating.

Helpful Tips

The more sugar you use, the thicker your syrup will become.

This recipe can be easily doubled or even tripled.

You don’t have to worry about what’s inside.

Making your own syrup saves money.Image

20 thoughts on “How to Make Pancake Syrup from Scratch

  1. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the longer term
    and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if
    I may I wish to suggest you some attention-grabbing issues
    or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles relating to this article.

    I wish to read even more things approximately it!

  2. I love what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my
    personal blogroll.

  3. I do not leave a leave a response, however after browsing through a bunch of
    remarks on How to Make Pancake Syrup from Scratch | Topsy-turvy Reflection of Esther’s Life.
    I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.
    Is it just me or do a few of the comments appear like they are coming from brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I’d like to
    keep up with everything new you have to post.

    Could you list of every one of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make
    your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste
    your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  5. Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and say I really enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same
    topics? Many thanks!

  6. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you
    are a great author.I will remember to bookmark
    your blog and will eventually come back later in life.

    I want to encourage that you continue your great posts,
    have a nice holiday weekend!

  7. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a
    comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  8. Hey I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you by accident,
    while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say thank you for a marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I
    have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  9. President, I think you’ll agree, this would probably put an end to all the name-calling
    that Democrats are currently subjected to thanks to our donkey symbol.
    ) relic. The oranges aren’t really suited to eating – it’s more like you are drinking fruit than eating it, way too juicy.

Leave a Reply

