* Good Old Fashioned Pancakes *


I ran across this recipe online, when I realized I didn’t have my trusted store brand box of pancake mix on hand. The recipe called for seven ingredients, and I happened to have all of them on hand. I was extra excited because just the night before I had made home-made syrup and suddenly I was taken back in time to “Little House on the Prairie” days. Awe, the small joys of life. 

Here are the ingredients:
  1. 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  2. 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  3. 1 teaspoon salt
  4. 1 tablespoon white sugar
  5. 1 1/4 cups milk
  6. 1 egg
  7. 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  8. 1/2 teaspoon vanilla 
Here are the directions for making pancakes:

1. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, egg, vanilla and melted butter; mix until smooth.
2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

Helpful Tips
 
  • After mixing up all the ingredients I realized that it was a tad too thick, so I added more milk. 
  • Also, I think it would help cutting back on the baking powder to 2 teaspoons to lesson the thickness. 
  • I prefer less salt in my baking, and after tasting test I would recommend using 3/4 teaspoons salt  
  • Beat your egg, add the melted butter and beat lightly until blended. Then lightly beat in your milk (careful not to over beat your egg). Add to your dry mixture. Your result is a fluffy, delicious, good old fashion pancake. 

“The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.” 
 ―  Julia Child  

Leave a Reply

